top of page
  • Sylvie Marie

Phelo The Great


Phillip Anthony Driskell, II, aka Phelo The Great, is an American “SPOTH” (Sophisticated Prophet of the Hood), a businessman, and a military veteran. Phelo exhibits selflessness, strength, courage, and pride. The mission of the Phelosophy EP 2018 Collaborative of Nashville, Tennessee is to create and present exceptional experiences that enrich the artistry of SPOTH’s who make a positive impact on humanitarian work. Phelo wants to spread recognition of hood arts and artistry and the value of humanitarian organizations helping these communities.

For fans who have never heard your music, can you pick three words to describe it?! If three words just aren't enough..then tell us more!!

For fans who have never heard my music using three words I will describe my music as: Passionate, Emotional, Realistic

When you are writing a song, where do you draw inspiration from? Or what topics do you like to write or sing about?

When I am writing a song my inspiration comes from my actual life experiences. The topics vary because I like to capture the present emotion I'm experiencing at that time. I am a verstile artist that can relate to life and the experiences that come with life good and bad.

Okay, this a fun question. When you are not doing music, what else do you enjoy doing?

When I'm not doing music I enjoy spending time with my daughter as well as running our media company The 4E Media Group. I have a radio show Boss Radio Live that can be heard on BlogTalk Radio by searching 4E Media. Boss Radio Live airs live Mon., Tues., Thurs., & Fri. at 4pm est/ 3pm cst StudioLine 323-642-1143.

If you were to create your favorite playlist of other artists music, what would your top 3 songs be? And, what artists have influenced your music the most?..

Wow! This is by far one of, if not the hardest question I've had to answer thus far. It is really so many artist I am truly a fan of. 1.Me Against the World by 2 Pac 2.Project Window by Nas 3.Friend or Foe by 8 Ball & MJG The artists that have influenced my music career the most are Scarface, 8 Ball & MJG, UGK (Bun B & Pimp C) RIP Pimp C, 2 PAC, Biggie RIP to 2 PAC & Biggie, Jay-Z, T.I.P., Outkast, Nas, & Ice Cube to drop some names

Can you tell us what song you've written that is the most emotional and describe the meaning behind it?

To date, the most emotional song to me is "Hey Momma". Hey Momma, was a dedication to my mother, whom I loss to cancer in 2014. Hey Momma, can be found on my first release "The Coming of Phelo The Great", released in 2017.

What is your dream gig? Is there a gig that you really want that would be the ultimate show for you?

I have a big imagination and loyal. Of course as songwriters and performing artist we all have that dream gig. For myself every show I play that's sold out whether a big venue or small venue, whether well-known or unknown is my dream gig it's not about the venue for me but about my loved ones which are my fans.

Are you working on any new material right now or what's in the works for the upcoming year?

Yes, I am always working on new material. Well, what's in the works for the upcoming year is "TG", which stands for The Group. We are preparing to release three singles this year so stay tuned. I will also be starting a world-wide tour as well. I am very excited with my team and the direction we are moving in.

Tell us where fans can access your music!

bottom of page