top of page
  • Sylvie Marie

Mahogany Soul


Mahogany Soul is an up and coming Neo-Soul/Hip-hop artist based out of Los Angeles. An 80’s baby with an old soul, Mahogany was strongly influenced by her love for classic and late 90’s /2000’s Hip-Hop and soul music. This helped her to craft her sound she calls “Hiphop-Soul.” Dedicated to her art, Mahogany focuses on spreading love, light, and life through her music.

For fans who have never heard your music, can you pick three words to describe it?! If three words just aren't enough..then tell us more!!

Soulful Relative & Vibrational

When you are writing a song, where do you draw inspiration from? Or what topics do you like to write or sing about?

I create from the Truth of Reality... Mines, Societal & the People My Inspiration is for the Love and Resurrection of a dying Culture and the Upliftment of Humanity I Write and Sing from the Three L's.. Love Light & Life

Okay, this a fun question. When you are not doing music, what else do you enjoy doing?

I am a mother to an Amazing 5 year old Prince named Jayden who is my shadow! And a 6 year old Poodle Mix named Ebony so I'm spending time with them. Which is one of my most peaceful moments. I truly enjoy Family time. I Love Hiking! And just being in Nature period! Whether it's a getaway just myself and my Dog or a Group Adventure. Nature has always been a Nurturing/Ritualistic experience for me. And just continuing on my Journey. Coming to deeper understandings of Self and Others and Creating moments by breaking out of my norm and having new experiences. Life is truly a Process...

If you were to create your favorite playlist of other artists music, what would your top 3 songs be? And, what artists have influenced your music the most?..

Erykah Badu - On & On Jill Scott - Golden Stevie Wonder - Send One Your Love Besides the Amazing Artist I just named... Ms. Lauryn Hill, Jay Z, Whitney Houston, DAngelo, Kendrick Lamar, J.Cole, Tupac just to name a few. I have a deep Love for Soul/Oldschool...the Essence of Music. As well as my Era.. Oldschool/Classic/Modern Hip-Hop.

Can you tell us what song you've written that is the most emotional and describe the meaning behind it? Emotional doesn't have to mean sad etc., it can be a high energy too...(sad, happy, angry, fear,etc.)

My Current Single "Negus" is very Relevant and has alot of Varying Emotions behind it. But the main being Pride & Faith. "NEGUS" is a Track written about the process of Elevation and Transformation. With it's origins in Ethiopia "Negus" was a term used to define a Black King, Emperor, Ruler. "When Niggas Turn To Gods, When My Negus Turn To Gods" sheds light on the Identity Crisis so many of us face living as what we call "Black" in America.

Check out the lyric video for "Negus" here!

What is your dream gig? Is there a gig that you really want that would be the ultimate show for you?

My Dream Goal is to have a Band of my own. I have a deep Love for Authentic Music. Not just Lyrically but Instrumentally as well. My Soul comes alive when the Keys, Drum, Bass, Etc blends!

Are you working on any new material right now or what's in the works for the upcoming year?

I am working on releasing my 1st Album/EP entiltled "Evolve-Lution" this Summer so stay tuned! As well as releasing the Visual within a few weeks to my Current track "Negus" which is available for Streaming on all Music Platforms! More Information can be found on my Website! Look for the Link!

Tell us where fans can access your music.



bottom of page