top of page
  • Sylvie Marie

Dana Carmel


Brooklyn, NY. Dana has enjoyed significant recognition in outlets like Bleep, Pen’s Eye View, and Independent Spotlight. She was a semi-finalist, with her song "Fighter" on songoftheyear.com. A prolific songwriter, Dana completed her 2013 “Song in Your Box” project where she wrote a song a week for a full year yielding more than 100 unique songs in her catalog. Dana has worked with musicians Jon Evans and Julie Wolf and studied under songwriter Bonnie Hayes. Her albums, the “The Difference (2008) and “Validity (2012) explore a full range of genre, instrumentation, tempo, and emotion. Dana is currently publishing music under her record label for Commercial, TV and Film. Today, she’s dedicated to her craft and to helping others access their creative spirit, too. With her “creative coaching and consulting,” Dana challenges, inspires, and guides songwriters,from beginners down to seasoned professionals, towards lyrical greatness.

For fans who have never heard your music, can you pick three words to describe it?! If three words just aren't enough..then tell us more!!

Melodic, relatable, unique! It's honest music that comes from my soul.

When you are writing a song, where do you draw inspiration from? Or what topics do you like to write or sing about?

I draw from my real feelings and experiences. Usually it’s something that I don’t have the words to say and so they have to be sung. When I co-write that changes because I am able to write from the perspective of the other writer.

Okay, this a fun question. When you are not doing music, what else do you enjoy doing? I enjoy dancing, yoga, kickboxing… I guess you could say I’m an active person. I love hanging out with my friends, going out to dinner, going to movies, and meditating.

If you were to create your favorite playlist of other artists music, what would your top 3 songs be? And, what artists have influenced your music the most?

Such good questions! And also really hard ones! I’d have to say I think Lenny Kravitz’s “It ain’t over til it’s over” is a top 3 song. Also “Black” by Pearl Jam. And any Beatles song. How about “she came in through the bathroom window”. I also have to do one dance song that I love and that I can’t get enough of. It’s called “Bring me to Life” and it’s by the Producer/DJ MK (featuring Milly Pye)

Can you tell us what song you've written that is the most emotional and describe the meaning behind it? Emotional doesn't have to mean sad etc., it can be a high energy too...(sad, happy, angry, fear,etc.) The song that most resonates with me at the moment and therefore feels the most emotional is called “One More Time”. I wrote it while I was in Italy and it was one of those songs that came fast and furious and afterwards I was like “ I can’t believe I just wrote that” because I think it’s so beautiful.It’s about knowing that a relationship can’t last for whatever reason, and really allowing yourself to feel the sadness about that reality. Even though you know it’s for the best, and maybe it wouldn’t even be what you want it to be, you think about everything it could be if only reality was different and since you can’t change reality, you cry for that.

Let's take a short break and check out Dana's music video, The Great Escape.

What is your dream gig? Is there a gig that you really want that would be the ultimate show for you​? My dream gig is a packed room singing all the words to my songs. I can’t imagine it gets much better than that. Are you working on any new material right now or what's in the works for the upcoming year? I’m always working on new material! I have a few new song, The Great Escape from my new album Little Red Heart which is being released soon and I’m so excited and proud to share what I’ve been working on. It is nothing less than the truest expression of my heart and I put a lot of fun hard work into it. Then I’ll be touring and releasing exclusive content around the making of the album. Tell us where fans can access your music. Provide 1 or 2 links here:​ Fans can get hold of my music on iTunes and CD Baby

bottom of page