top of page

Alfie Lucero Canaan - Music Interview

Please Pass the Indie is proud to present a music interview with Alfie Lucero Canaan. For fans who have never heard your music, can you pick three words to describe it?! If three words just aren't enough then tell us more!!


Three words for my music: energetic, soulful, and real.

When you are writing a song, where do you draw inspiration from? Or what topics do you like to sing about?


When writing or performing music I like to attach myself to the feeling or message that the music is trying to convey. I want the music to come across with its original and truest intentions. Typically, I draw inspiration on how I feel or an idea and I tried to translate into musical means. When I solo, for instance, I want to tell a story, which is quite more difficult than it sounds.


Okay, this a fun question. When you are not doing music, what else do you enjoy doing?


I love movies. I'm a huge movie nerd. I love Tarantino, the Coen Brothers, etc. If music wasn't my life career I would definitely be in movies. I love the process of creating and making a movie come to life. Angles, color schemes, themes, soundtrack, music editing, you name it.

Can you tell us what song you've written that is the most emotional and describe the meaning behind it?


One song from Scenic Underground's upcoming album definitely hits that. The lyrics were written by Joel Herr and the music between all of us in the band. "Another Way to Survive” is an energetic, forward-momentum song about two people who find themselves tired of the unnatural state of human interaction of the modern world, and who have had their share of disappointments in life. The song's lyrics are about how to stay hopeful and keep going forward despite the challenges. As the song progresses onward, the music invites the listener not to lose hope. The song is an anthem for fighting on while connecting with another person in sharing their happiness and their sadness. The music reflects the fast-paced nature of social interactions through online means while maintaining a personal connection with what's important like love, life and more.


Take a listen to "Another Way to Survive" -Live at The Studio Venue



What was the first song or piece you ever wrote!?


There was this song idea I wrote when I was younger, and hated it. It's being a long time and I didn't share it with anyone. It was sort of an experiment and something for myself. I lost the lyrics and forgotten the melody and everything but I vaguely remember that it was sort of a cry for help. I was pretty lonely and angry at the time and needed something to help me unload.

What is your dream gig? Is there a gig that you really want that would be the ultimate show for you?

My dream gig has changed over the years. At one point I wanted to play a huge festival like Woodstock or Coachella. Now, my dream gig would be touring all year round. Going out there to cities that like the music and the shows, and perform for them. To see the world, meet new people, try out new things, and play music for a living. That would be pretty neat.

Are you working on any new material right now or what's in the works for the upcoming year? Yes, lots of stuff in the works. All the projects I am involved in has multiple things going on. Coat Check Girl is back into the writing process to record more singles with a new sound. Scenic Underground is working on a full-length album, music videos, and more shows. All Follows Eve has more music and shows in the works, which will be announced in due time. Kia has a album to be released and more show dates to be announced. Finally, I got a thing or two in the works that I'll announce when the time is right. But other than that, I'm in around LA doing my thing.


Check out Coat Check Girl - "Audience of None"

Tell us where fans can access your music! Check out my website! Connect on Instagram Coat Check Girl

Coat Check Girl Videos

Coat Check Girl Website. Scenic Underground

Listen on Spotify

Scenic Underground Videos

Scenic Underground Website All Follows Eve Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

Listen on Spotify or Soundcloud

All Follows Eve Videos

All Follow Eve Website

Kia Instagram | Facebook Listen on Spotify Kia's Videos

Kia's Website

 

Alfie Lucero Canaan


Alfie was born in Tijuana, Mexico and is currently living in Los Angeles. He is available for touring, performing, recording, and writing sessions. He received his B.M. in performance from Musicians Institute, and his M.M. in Commercial Music from CSU Los Angeles. Alfie has extensive experience working with several music ensembles of varying sizes and styles, including big band, jazz combos, blues/rock trios, Afro-Cuban big bands, wind orchestras, etc. He is proficient in sight-reading, transcribing, and arranging, as well as comfortable in performing numerous contemporary styles, from jazz, funk, R&B, blues, and rock. Includes experience in the studio, as both a performer and an audio engineer (assisting or leading roles). Current projects include alternative rock/pop band Coat Check Girl, cinematic-pop band All Follows Eve, rock group Scenic Underground, Soul/Pop/Hip Hop artist Kia, and more.

 

Yorumlar


bottom of page