top of page

Arda & The Stolen Moon - 'Emotional Hacking'

Updated: May 25, 2021

Review by Patrick Joseph


“Emotional Hacking” is a driving rock song with an impactful message. Arda and the Stolen Moon communicate a rawness of energy with a fabulous performance on this track. Catchy hooks and indie-rock sensibilities are all over this music. Listeners will love this subversive, energetic, and edgy sound. Soaring guitars and a thumping rhythm section underscore a unique and engaging lead vocal. This song has its own infectious identity.


Lyrically, “Emotional Hacking” is simultaneously a scathing indictment of social media culture and a refuge for the multitudes who feel at odds with it.


“I admit I’m too skinny to twerk”…I “can’t compete with that Kardashian glitter.”


These lyrics are comical while remaining poignant.


“No emoji can describe my mood, I don’t fit in… Infomercials asking promotions, well guess what you can’t hack my emotions.”

The confident and distinctive quality of the lead vocal delivers these sentiments perfectly.


The arrangement of “Emotional Hacking” will have you smiling and rocking out. While the music is undoubtedly serious and well-crafted, its overall vibe is very fun. Tongue-in-cheek lyrics and a genuine rock approach to the instrumental tracks give the song a great feeling. A whaling electric guitar, screaming back-up vocals, a delicate piano layer, and punchy drums and bass paint the perfect picture. “Emotional Hacking” is a fantastic piece of music.


Connect on Facebook


For more information on Arda & The Stolen Moon, visit their website.

 

About Arda & the Stolen Moon


"I met Arda through a mutual friend sometime in 2014. A gentle, soft-spoken soul, singer-songwriter who performed some in London a few years back, took a hiatus and wanted to get back "in the ring". I have to admit that I'm quite particular with such projects but, the eyes being the window to the soul, i detected desire and determination together with an intriguing restlessness.

She gave me a CD with 10 songs which I began to evaluate. Disappointment crept when one after the other headed to the waste bin of my impression of singer songwriting. I was about to give up when song number 8 tickled my ears. I listened again (and again). "This is a great f*****g" tune I thought to myself. Where did this come from?". Then tracks #9 and #10. Fantastic songwriting with excellent transitions from verse to chorus to bridge. Turns out these were the most recent songs Arda had written. More mature more introspective more interesting. We discussed the project over lengthy coffee sessions and agreed on the direction we'd follow. And sure enough, Arda started churning out song after song with creative excitement. Every voice has the right to be heard. This one DESERVES to be heard!" - ROBERT CAMASSA - Producer

 

コメント


bottom of page