top of page

Bill Abernathy - A Music Interview


Bill Abernathy grew up with a passion for music. He wrote songs and played music throughout his early school years. Eventually, life took over and Bill got married, raised a family, and focused on his business career.  After his kids graduated from school and started their own careers, Bill returned to his guitar and the rest is history. Today, Bill is an artist on fire. As a a pure "lyrics-first" writer and a great storyteller, he is fully enjoying his rekindled passion and rising success.

His last album, 2017’s “Find A Way” reached #5 on the Roots Music Report Traditional Folk Album chart, and his single “Goodbye Will Never Come Again” reached #1 on the singles chart. Bill’s latest collection of songs, “Crossing Willow Creek,” is a Roots Music Report Americana chart-topping album. The first single, “Cry Wolf” reached the iTunes Top 100 Rock Songs chart, while hitting the Top 5 on New Music Weekly’s country chart. The next two singles also received national and international charting. Bill is also a December 2018 Billboard Magazine Emerging Artist. He is currently touring the mid-west on his “Living The Dream” solo tour. His music is available on most major digital outlets.

For fans who have never heard your music, can you pick three words to describe it?! If three words just aren't enough..then tell us more!!


Very Very Sexy.. lol. My music is really story telling with notes and a guitar. Things I see or experience find their way to the written word, and sometimes end up being a song.


Speaking of sexy...check out Bill's video of "You Can't Go Back" referencing \a girl in a red sequenced dress...

When you are writing a song, where do you draw inspiration from? Or what topics do you like to sing about? I think there is so much going on our lives today finding inspiration is really not a challenge. If your observant, much of the inspiration is right there in front of you. Then of course you need to take that inspiration and turn it into music that works with the subject of the inspiration. Okay, this a fun question. When you are not doing music, what else do you enjoy doing? I am a big sports fan and enjoy watching my grandsons play baseball, wrestle and play football. With the KC Chiefs making it to the Superbowl there is a lot of fun times happening in Kansas City, which is my hometown. Go Chiefs.. they are fun to watch. Can you tell us what song you've written that is the most emotional and describe the meaning behind it? Emotional doesn't have to mean sad etc., it can be a high energy too...(sad, happy, angry, fear,etc.) My tune "Find A Way" is really a great example of this. It documents the day my Father passed away, reminisces about the multitude of things he taught me, and talks about how I deal with all of that. It really encompasses many emotions throughout the song and ends with an outro of his favorite song. "Find A Way" is a really special song for me, and folks enjoy hearing it and the back story when I play live.

What was the first song or piece you ever wrote!? I wrote a song for a girl which, I suppose, is where many first songs come from. It was terrible. Haha. What is your dream gig? Is there a gig that you really want that would be the ultimate show for you? I have always wanted to play Red Rocks. I think that is a spectacular place for acoustic styled music.


Are you working on any new material right now or what's in the works for the upcoming year? I have new material that is “cooking,” but the focus for now is to break out of the studio and meet our fans face to face. I am in the middle of a 5-state solo tour now and expect to do some shows full band as the year rolls along. Tell us where fans can access your music. You can visit my website.

Or, listen on my Spotify Page


Connect on Facebook or Twitter

 

This music interview was brought to you by BWH Music Group #BillAbernathy #MusicInterviews

コメント


bottom of page