top of page

Ed Roman - Music Interview

Please Pass the Indie is proud to present an interview with Billboard Emerging Artist, Ed Roman.

For fans who have never heard your music, can you pick three words to describe it?! If three words just aren't enough..then tell us more!!


Three words can be potent. One word can say it all. Silence is said to be understood. But three words I will give you will be.


Earthy. Earthy because the music is forged in a very robust planetary human experience. The alembic vitrum of life..


Conscience. Conscience as a result of thought provoking ideas and expulsion of self-expression that can stir the moral of coil


Release. Art for me is a continual release of emotion ideas and information colliding with the day and age we live in.


When you are writing a song, where do you draw inspiration from? Or what topics do you like to sing about?


Ed Roman. Most of my songs deal with the human experience. The titanic and apocalyptic aspect of the mortal coil,intermingled with extreme joy and elation about the life experience. It is for me the duality of life. A continual vacillation between learning, trial & error and victory. C’est la vie.

Okay, this a fun question. When you are not doing music, what else do you enjoy doing?


Ed Roman. Well most people know that when I’m not playing music I am an avid gardener. But some of the other interests that I have include archaeology, sociology, geology, astronomy, political science, Sociopolitics, a robust interest for the paranormal and I love

cooking.


Can you tell us what song you’ve written that is the most emotional and describe the meaning behind it? Emotional doesn’t have to mean sad etc., it can be a high energy too...(sad, happy, angry, fear,etc.)


Ed Roman. This question is timeless and extremely difficult to answer. Much of the music that I write is about my life experience so it is all extremely important to me. Important to me for many reasons. They are all connected to my emotional vibratory engine. All of them circumnavigate some aspect of my emotional dialect. I am most happy that I took the time to listen to the information and allow it to pull me through my experience. They vacillate from song to song with different emotional capacity. They all tell some kind of story and allow for a cathartic experience. Good bad and ugly...


What was the first song or piece you ever wrote!?


Ed Roman. Growing up as children music was like a playground of gigantic monkey bars. As friends and fellow musicians we would lock ourselves in basements bedrooms and old houses for weeks at a time recording and writing music. These are some of the most

memorable and early experiences that I remember having as a young musician. Filled with camaraderie, fun, crazy antics and hijinks and just the right amount of trouble. The first song I remember writing was with a friend of mine Tobias Tinker in his living room while his parents were away for the week. The song is called “Couch Potato”. A look into the life of someone who is fixated with television and becoming a part of their furniture. Fun funky nutty crazy and I still sometimes play it today.


What is your dream gig? Is there a gig that you really want that would be the ultimate show for you?


Ed Roman. I could say something like every gig is a dream gig because I love to play music but there are some amazing old concert halls and venues around the world that would be stellar to perform in or at. The Legendary Madison Square, Gardens in New York City

would be in that top five list along with the Red Rocks amphitheatre in Colorado. I’d also like to take a shot at the Hammersmith Odeon in London.


Are you working on any new material right now or what’s in the works for the upcoming year?


Ed Roman. Thanks for asking. I’ve been working on a large number of new pieces for a project entitled “A Recipe For Perpetual Spring” Most recently I have just released a single and the lyric video for a new song called “Stronger”. Folks and fans and Ed Heads around the world can check out the latest lyric video on my YouTube channel.

Tell us where fans can access your music.


Ed Roman. I’d like to thank you so kindly for having me today and it’s been a pleasure to be able to speak with you. You can find me everywhere on the internet under Special EdRoman. I encourage fans and folks to check out the latest video on my YouTube channel.


You can also come by my website and follow all my social networking buttons at..


You can also buy it and get all of my music on iTunes, Amazon and cdbaby as well as download it to your Spotify channel.

 

About Ed Roman

An "Emerging Artist" in Billboard Magazine, Ed Roman is an Award-winning singer/songwriter, performer and multi-instrumentalist from Shelburne, Ontario, Canada. Blurring the lines between pop, rock, folk, and country music genres, Ed’s uniquely crafted songs have received regular rotation on more than 100 terrestrial radio stations and more than 600 stations, worldwide.

Ed is a 2014 Artists Music Guild Award Nominee, a 2014 and 2018 International Music and Entertainment Association Award Winner, a two-time 2015 IMEA Award nominee, a 2015 and 2016 Josie Show Awards winner, an Akademia Awards Winner, and a two-time Indie Music Channel Award winner. Ed won a 2017 Radio Music Award for Best Americana Artist.

His animated music video for the Top 20 iTunes charting song, “Red Omen” has been shown at numerous film festivals around the globe, earning accolades and raising funds for Whole Dyslexic Foundation, a cause near and dear to Ed’s heart. Ed is also a gentleman farmer, gardener and paranormal enthusiast. Ed’s brand new single, “Stronger” will be released in January 2020 on MTS Records.

 

Comments


bottom of page