top of page

Freddie Bourne - Music Interview


New Jersey native Freddie Bourne started music at a young age and by the time he was in high-school he was fronting two bands and playing gigs at The Saint, The Stone Pony, and Starland Ballroom. He went on to attend Fairleigh Dickinson University where he obtained a degree in broadcasting. Determined to make a career in music, he took a chance as a solo artist and found success opening for One Tree Hill’s Tyler Hilton, Dion Roy, and Mike Schavio. Bourne signed to The Latest Noise Records and had a top 40 hit in the Netherlands, released three EPs, and toured across the United States. His latest release, The Troubled Boy at the Bonfire Disco is available on major digital and streaming outlets.


For fans who have never heard your music, can you pick three words to describe it?! If three words just aren't enough then tell us more!


I don't think I can say exactly one full word, but definitely phrases! Probably something along the lines of "heart-on-sleeve", with a sense of "tranquility", with some hints of being "free-spirited."

When you are writing a song, where do you draw inspiration from? Or what topics do you like to sing about?


Earlier in my career, I went off of observing experiences and trying to create narratives, as if they were written for a plot of a movie. However, I realized, along with listeners, that there wasn't much substance in what I was putting out. When I decided to be personable and write about my experiences, whether good or bad, it mattered more and it finally started establishing and reconnecting why I wanted to make music in the first place.


Most of the inspiration is based on what I am going through, what my friends and family are going through, and topics and sounds of certain artists that I am really digging at the time. With my recent EP The Troubled Boy at the Bonfire Disco, I listened to a lot of Eiffel 65 to hear male-fronted dance music and find a way to make it my own. And then I came across Lions Head, where they were able to balance the groove while still maintaining attention to the stories. I knew that I wanted to do something along those lines for a long time so I experimented with different sounds and chords in order to get an idea of what will work. Experimenting continues to inspire me because I typically go into a session with one idea and then leave with about 20 different directions of where a new track could lead.

Okay, this a fun question. When you are not doing music, what else do you enjoy doing?


I love cooking. Definitely something I've picked up more recently. Additionally, driving for hours at a time with the sunroof open with an iced coffee in my hand. And of course enjoying time with my partner and Petey the Frenchton puppy.

Can you tell us what song you've written that is the most emotional and describe the meaning behind it?


This is a good one. I was recording with some friends from Germany when they were visiting while on holiday. We decided to just have a jam session where I recorded my first record. But we ended up making songs on the fly individually, kept the mic on and surprised ourselves making songs off the cuff. I ended up having this chord progression in mind for some time and began playing it while the mic was still hot and just started singing what I was feeling. At that time, I was a month sober, my mother and grandmother passed away about three months prior, I just quit my job, moved back in with my father and just had my relationship end. So, you can imagine it was a troubling time, but the song "Twinkle" came out of it.

What was the first song or piece you ever wrote!?


I was about nine or so and just got my first keyboard for Christmas. I was heavy into a lot of bubblegum pop, cheesy lyrics, and dramatic key changes. I didn't know how to write or to play and the only songs I knew got my attention were love songs about "I love you", "You're Everything to Me", and all of that in between. I wrote a song called "Did It Hurt When You Fell From the Sky?", basically a play on an angel coming from Heaven. I only wrote the chorus and never revisited it. A student at the university I used to work at ask me this same question, which inspired me to go back and write the rest of the song 18 years later. The song was cheese. It was romantic. I have no intention of releasing it. Yet.


What is your dream gig? Is there a gig that you really want that would be the ultimate show for you?


Ever since I went solo, I really wanted to play South by Southwest. I was honored that I was selected to play a showcase there this year, but unfortunately it did not happen due to COVID-19. So it's still a goal. Followed by Live from Daryl's House. Then Madison Square Garden. Then Wembley. Whatever comes first.

Are you working on any new material right now or what's in the works for the upcoming year?


I just finished the new EP! The Troubled Boy at the Bonfire Disco just came out the first week of April. I'm super proud of this project because it's bonkers. It's all over the map genre-wise. I think anyone can enjoy certain aspects of the project. It's a smörgåsbord of flavor. Enjoy.

Tell us where fans can access your music.


Feel free to head to my website. And you can check out the music right away over at Spotify

 


टिप्पणियां


bottom of page