top of page

Haley Griffin - Music Interview


Hailing from Wisconsin, Haley Griffin is an up and coming indie-pop artist who is noted for her authenticity. Originally pursuing a career in English, Griffin changed her career path to music, received a vocal scholarship, and graduated from Berklee College of Music in Boston.


Griffin's songs present honest lyrics and storytelling laced with poetry and imagery. Some of her lyrical icons include Kacey Musgraves, Kings of Convenience and Billy Joel. Upon graduation, Griffin Griffin released her debut single, "Ferris Wheels" on May 10th.



For fans who have never heard your music, can you pick three words to describe it?! If three words just aren't enough then tell us more!!

My sound is often changing, but right now I'd say easy-listening, poetic, and honest.

When you are writing a song, where do you draw inspiration from? Or what topics do you like to sing about?


I'm pretty basic in the fact that I love to draw from my own personal experiences. It's very easy when you're songwriting to write something when you're feeling down to get it off your chest, but I try to challenge myself and write the happy things too, because I want my music to be uplifting and centered around self-love, happiness, romantic love, etc. A sad song is great to throw in every once in a while, but I don't want everything I write to be like that.

Okay, this a fun question. When you are not doing music, what else do you enjoy doing?

Still art related, but I love fiction writing and poetry. I almost pursued English in college over music; it honestly was a hard choice. Some day, I hope to release the book I've been working on for what feels like forever.


Can you tell us what song you've written that is the most emotional and describe the meaning behind it?


You're getting ahead of me! My most emotional song is my second release which is not out yet, called ELSE. ELSE touches on the topic of empty love. When you don't feel important to the person you love, or you don't feel worthy of love. It's an old song, so I'm happy to share that I no longer feel this way, but singing it always brings me back to that feeling.

What was the first song or piece you ever wrote!?


FERRIS WHEELS! :) Or at least, that's the only one that's survived from my high school songwriting journal. Some of those were real rough. But I wrote that one when I was 16.

What is your dream gig? Is there a gig that you really want that would be the ultimate show for you?

I would love to perform with my best friends at Berklee in a band. Feeding off of that love of music and love for each other would make performing even more special. Since this is my debut, I haven't performed my originals yet, so I'm excited to share them intimately with an audience.

Are you working on any new material right now or what's in the works for the upcoming year?


I have two songs planned for release after this, we'll see where that takes me.

Tell us where fans can access your music.

Listen on Spotify.


Find on Apple Music.


Connect Instagram.

 

Comments


bottom of page