top of page

Jaye Wood - Exclusive Interview


Jaye Wood is an R&B sensation to watch. Bringing real R & B back, Jaye has been receiving critical acclaim for his new single "Outta Time." The singer-songwriter is no stranger to success. His career spans Broadway, television, and the stage. His journey started in the entertainment industry as a successful child actor (credited as  D. Jamaar). His most acclaimed roles were Young Simba in Disney's theatrical play The Lion King which premiered on Broadway, Young Wesley in Preaching to The Choir, and his appearance on The Dave Chappelle Show. We caught up with Jaye for some fun interview questions.


For fans who have never heard your music, can you pick three words to describe it?! If three words just aren't enough then tell us more!!


Hmmmmm three words ... Nostalgic, Real, Smooth ass vocals. That wasn't three but man that's hard....Hahaha Let's sum it up to just "Butter." I miss those days when the radio played artist that SANNNNNG! WHEW YES!!!


When you are writing a song, where do you draw inspiration from? Or what topics do you like to sing about?


Writing isn't necessarily something I sit down to do. I jump on my computer and find tracks "instrumentals" that move me ... from there I take that and tell stories that folks can relate to. Maybe it's something I'm going through or my best friends/family member and even something I could've heard someone else dealing with!! For me, it's all about the vibes.


Okay, this a fun question. When you are not doing music, what else do you enjoy doing?


Man let me tell you....I am a car fanatic!! WHEW! My friends will tell you I just need to stop. Hahahaha .... Currently I'd say the dream car is a Ferrari 458 Italia ... If I could've bought YouTube sensation TJ Hunt's 458 I would've.


Can you tell us what song you've written that is the most emotional and describe the meaning behind it?


I would say the most emotional song I've written has to be an unreleased song demo 2016... Before I officially released anything. The song is called "Mistakes." But it's everything I felt about this whole Black Lives Matter/police brutality issues we face as African American United States citizens. I know there are two sides to every story, but hell this one is mine and I stand behind it wholeheartedly.


What was the first song or piece you ever wrote!?


Haha WOW ... Taking it back with this one aren't ya! I would say the first song I remember writing/creating a melody for was this acapella vibe I did when I attended Princeton University during the summer of my 10th grade year.


What is your dream gig? Is there a gig that you really want that would be the ultimate show for you?


Yes yes yes .. GRAMMYS!!! I want to perform in front of the people I have looked up to my entire career. How awesome is that!!!!


Are you working on any new material right now or what's in the works for the upcoming year?


Absolutely! I'm always working on new material. I want a "Prince Valute" after all. This year you can expect an EP from me. I plan on dropping some spring vibes that will make some folks wanna dance!!!!


Tell us where fans can access your music.


You can find my music on my website at www.JayeWood.com.


Connect on Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Listen on Spotify

 

Comentários


bottom of page