top of page

Josh Breezzyy - Exclusive Interview


Joshua Brewster, better known by his stage name "Josh Breezzyy," is an American rapper and engineer from Long Island NY, residing in North Carolina. Currently, Josh is the CEO of Independent Record Label, McKnight Records. His current release Third Dimension (January, 2020) features Caprot, a long time friend and original McKnight Records artist, along with Breana Marin, LaKeith Rashad, John Concepcion, and Eminem long-time collaborator, Mr. Porter from D-12. Third Dimension is Josh's biggest album to date, garnishing critical acclaim and over 90,000 streams in the album's first week.


For fans who have never heard your music, can you pick three words to describe it?! If three words just aren't enough then tell us more!!

Three words? The Greatest Alive, and I mean that. I strive to carry myself as the greatest, and the more you manifest it, the better chance you have at achieving it.


When you are writing a song, where do you draw inspiration from? Or what topics do you like to sing about?

I pull a lot of my content from my real life. My last album, was semi autobiographical in a way that was such great concept. I talked about every fear I had, but I masked it behind a Character and story I was telling in a way that the listener almost felt like they were watching a movie, but I was able to get my feelings out. What an album.


Okay, this a fun question. When you are not doing music, what else do you enjoy doing?

I workout everyday. I also collect Hardy Boyz action figures, so some days I'm setting figures up in my figure room or I'm watching them on TV, but other than that, I'm always doing music. I run all my business operations, so my days are usually full with emails, phone calls, studio sessions, marketing, etc. Music is my life.


Can you tell us what song you've written that is the most emotional and describe the meaning behind it?

The most emotional song for me is for sure "Feel Me" Ft. Breana Marin. She killed the hook and really made the song what it is. The song's about the loss of a relationship with my mom and all the actual events that took place on the day I was kicked out, and the last time I will ever speak to my mom. It was the first song that I recorded in my new house, and I actually recorded it with Laryngitis which was crazy! So many frustrating days not being able to finish my recordings, and then not being able to fix it in the mixes. It was rough, but thousands of cough drops later and gallons of hot tea with honey, and we did it. Wavy Wayne actually ended up doing the mix on that, and he saved my life.

What was the first song or piece you ever wrote!?

My first ever mixtape was called "No Regrets" and it was awful. The first raps I ever recorded were on a program called Mixcraft on my grandmas computer. I got Eminem's "No Apologies" beat off of YouTube and loaded it in and started rapping. It was awful. But she would leave for bingo and I would sneak in her back door to record because I didn't have my own computer at my house. I was always so scared that she would come home early or something and catch me, but she never did thankfully haha


What is your dream gig? Is there a gig that you really want that would be the ultimate show for you?

I just want to create a song with Chris Brown and perform it. I stepped in High School, so we could even do some dope choreography in there and really body it. He's so great on stage, and if I could come out to thousands of fans rapping and then jump into his set, I don't think there's any rappers doing that. I want to do it.


Are you working on any new material right now or what's in the works for the upcoming year?

Really just getting ready for this tour, but I'm working on a project with Mr. Porter from D12. 5 Joints we got in the stash, I just need to finish the mixes on them and set up a rollout. But as far as new music, that's really it. Maybe some surprises though.


Tell us where fans can access your music.


All my music is on all streaming platforms under "Josh Breezzyy". You can also access my new album at Smarturl.it/ThirdDimension

 

Comments


bottom of page