top of page

Marina Matiss - Exclusive Interview



Marina Matiss is an English and Spanish multilingual singer and songwriter. The international artist started playing piano at the age of 5 along with a little guitar. Matiss comes from a musical family: her mother is a music teacher. Later, Matiss studied linguistics and received a MBA degree. Her mother wanted her to pursue a practical career, but Matiss soon realized that music was her passion. She eventually bought a piano and started recording songs, working with garage band, while looking for professional studios and collaborations. Within a very short time, Matiss has already attracted top-notch producers and has worked with David Palau (Bon Jovi, Toto, Alejandro Sanz) and Arthur Pingrey (Sting, Sia). Today, she is working on an album.


For fans who have never heard your music, can you pick three words to describe it?! If three words just aren't enough then tell us more!!


Sincere, ambient, sometimes futuristic.


I never tailor my music to the trends, I believe that an artist should make the music that he/she carries inside. Otherwise it's a waste of talent.


Check out this video of Matiss performing Phoboslight!

When you are writing a song, where do you draw inspiration from? Or what topics do you like to sing about?


Everyone likes to sing about love; I'm no exception :) But I also touch scientific, futuristic, social and political topics.


Okay, this a fun question. When you are not doing music, what else do you enjoy doing?


I write poems and I also wrote a book, auto-biographical novel "Zero Gravity". I love learning languages ( I speak 7 some better some worse), I'm interested in the scientific world, space, robotics. Traveling, of course, I'd love to visit Japan next year. I may not be an otaku, but I love anime.


Can you tell us what song you've written that is the most emotional and describe the meaning behind it?


It is a song I wrote in Spanish that will be released soon. It is a song about my previous relationships and it is called "El perdon" - "The forgiveness." I had very painful experience and I poured it all into this song, it is very intimate and very sincere.


What was the first song or piece you ever wrote!?


The very first song I ever wrote was a Rap song, I used to be a Bgirl (I was dancing hip-hop and listening to hip-hop music) when I was 13. The song was called "There'll be nothing else", but I never recorded it, just wrote the lyrics and made my parents cry when they heard it.


What is your dream gig? Is there a gig that you really want that would be the ultimate show for you?


Dreams have no limits, why artificially putting them? Therefore I dream so big that for now it's maybe even be inappropriate to say it out loud :) Maybe I could do a gig on Mars.


Are you working on any new material right now or what's in the works for the upcoming year?


I will release several singles in the coming months, including "El perdon" and hoping to release an album soon.


Tell us where fans can access your music.


Connect with Mattis on Instagram. Listen on Spotify.

For more information, please visit Marina Matiss' website.

 

Comments


bottom of page