top of page

Pauline Frechette - Exclusive Interview


Pauline Frechette is a composer and performer with roots in classical, Broadway and rock. Her Great-grandfather, Josef Vezina, founded the Quebec Symphony and her father was a theater organist. Frechette has composed songs for TV and Film. Her rock opera, Ataria, was produced by The Goodspeed Opera House and the Baruch Theatre in NYC. As a singer/performer, she considers herself a 21st Century “troubadour”, a contemporary poet-musician. Her credits include singing on major motion pictures (Aladdin, Rent, Mermaids …). She has performed and recorded with many legendary artists including MUSE for the 2012 Olympics; Paul McCartney, Willie Nelson, Leonard Cohen, Cher, and duets with Neil Diamond.


For fans who have never heard your music, can you pick three words to describe it?! If three words just aren't enough then tell us more!!


Contemporary classical music with melodies and harmonies take you to unexpected places, emotionally driven yet only 2 or 3 minutes long.


When you are writing a song, where do you draw inspiration from? Or what topics do you like to sing about?


My life experiences, the people around me and from a deep spiritual place that I tap into.


Okay, this a fun question. When you are not doing music, what else do you enjoy doing?


I love spending time in nature, riding horses, sailing, swimming, hiking, and walking along the beach. I also enjoy watching movies and reading good books.


Can you tell us what song you've written that is the most emotional and describe the meaning behind it?


"Song For Michael" is probably my most emotional song and the most critically acclaimed. I composed it the night I heard that my nephew had died in his sleep. He was only 19.

What was the first song or piece you ever wrote!?


I started composing songs when I was very little, so I don't remember which song came first. But I do remember one lovely folk song I wrote when I was in my teens called "My Boat."


What is your dream gig? Is there a gig that you really want that would be the ultimate show for you?


Having my music performed by major ballet companies, especially the New York City Ballet. And, doing a solo concert at Carnegie Hall.


Also, I'm premiering two new cello pieces I composed this March at a concert and am working on a new album with my husband, David Campbell. It will be released for the 2022 Grammy season.


Are you working on any new material right now or what's in the works for the upcoming year?


I am working on a short ballet that I was commissioned to compose for the Pacific Festival Ballet Co. with the New West Symphony. It will be workshopped this summer and performed in April 2021 here in L.A.


Tell us where fans can access your music.


 

Comments


bottom of page