top of page

Peter Unger - Music Interview


Rev. Peter B. Unger is UCC pastor. He received his doctorate degree from Drew University in Madison, NJ in the area of Psychology of Religion. He has served Churches in upstate NY., and Eastern PA. He was a chaplain at the Syracuse, NY Veterans Hospital. Pastor Unger is currently an adjunct college instructor in the areas of Philosophy, Ethics, and Comparative Religion. His passion, at the heart of his ministry, has been to share the saving Grace of Jesus Christ through storytelling, singing and songwriting. Peter’s music features organic guitar work and poignant lyrics with a focus on hope and faith in today’s challenging world. Peter’s latest song is titled “Song and Prayer.” In this song, he offers hope in light of the fear and frustrations concerning the current epidemic.


For fans who have never heard your music, can you pick three words to describe it?! If three words just aren't enough then tell us more!!

Faith, Hope and Love When you are writing a song, where do you draw inspiration from? Or what topics do you like to sing about?


Common human experiences, including my own informed, and transformed by faith. The lyrics of the song are very important to me, and offer Christian reflections on contemporary issues.

Okay, this a fun question. When you are not doing music, what else do you enjoy doing?


Spending time with my grand-children tops the list easily.

Can you tell us what song you've written that is the most emotional and describe the meaning behind it? Reunion is the most personal wrote it soon after my mother passed away this year. We were very close.

What was the first song or piece you ever wrote!? I wrote "Help Me Find My Way" when I was 14 or 15. Our family had moved from the suburban neighborhood of a big city to a back water town in Vermont. Lost all my friends, felt like Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz. Definitely did not fit in. The song reflected these feelings and a budding faith life.

What is your dream gig? Is there a gig that you really want that would be the ultimate show for you? I am very different from most songwriter/performers. I wrote most of my songs for worship. Over the years I have performed them almost exclusively in worship forums and as an extension of ministry. Only started sharing them in recent years online.

Are you working on any new material right now?

Songwriting for me is a very impulsive, intuitive process, most often driven by some experience. Often after I have written a song it feels like a gift from God, although I wouldn't blame all my songs on God. A passion to share the Grace and love of God in a cynical, meaningless and overly-materialistic world, definitely drives my songwriting.

Tell us where fans can access your music. Connect on Facebook.


Listen on Spotify.

 

Comentários


bottom of page