top of page

The Artist ElJay - Music Interview


The Artist ElJay has released a hot new EP, Champion. ElJay Williams Jr. (Born December 18th, 1983), aka El-Jay or The Artist ElJay, is an American singer, song-writer, writer, philanthropist, entrepreneur, and actor. Born the son of Veronica M. Ashley and El-Jay Williams Sr., The Artist ElJay is a native of Kansas City, Missouri. Loyal to his roots, he draws from his experiences giving fans, worldwide, music they can relate to. In late 2018, The Artist ElJay created his first full EP titled Melody.


For fans who have never heard your music, can you pick three words to describe it?! If three words just aren't enough then tell us more!!


Fun, Melodic, Groovy

When you are writing a song, where do you draw inspiration from? Or what topics do you like to sing about?

When writing a song, I typically draw energy from my current state in life or what takes priority in my life at that time. So if I’m in love at the time most my writing will be based around love. If I’m in a good place and just having fun then my writing will usually be around that.

Okay, this a fun question. When you are not doing music, what else do you enjoy doing?


I love writing, eating, and hanging with family and friends. Oh, and I love to have a good glass of white wine and just chill on the couch watching a good scary movie.

Can you tell us what song you've written that is the most emotional and describe the meaning behind it?


I would say the most emotional song was “I Need You” off my 2018 EP Melody. This was emotional because my cousin had died at the time and it was a hard hit on our family. The song has a double meaning. One meaning is the family needed each other and the second meaning being we needing our cousin. It was very hard to write and even harder to shoot the music video.

What was the first song or piece you ever wrote!?

The first song I ever wrote was a birthday song for my mom when I was 12 yes old. I wrote it, produced it on my karaoke machine and recorded on cassette, and presented it to her. Lol!

What is your dream gig? Is there a gig that you really want that would be the ultimate show for you?


My dream gig would be to do a song and show with my girl Beyoncé. She’s such an inspiration and such a hard working and just a bad ass.

Are you working on any new material right now or what's in the works for the upcoming year?


I will be back in the studio for a follow up EP. And once this Pandemic is lifted I hope you all will see me on many platforms.

Tell us where fans can access your music.


For more information on Artist ElJay, please visit Reverbnation.

Connect with The Artist ElJay on Facebook To connect on all social media sites - @TheArtistEljay

 

Comments


bottom of page